Our Experts Are Here to Help
1.800.729.1997

Frequently Asked
Questions

Q. How old do I need to be before I can sign up for the learner's permit course?

A. Under Florida DMV guidelines, you must be 14 years old or older to sign up and complete a driver education learner permit course. You may not apply for your learner's permit until your 15th birthday.

Q. How do I apply for a Florida learners permit / driving permit?

A. To receive your FL driving permit you must:

  • be at least 15 years old,
  • successfully pass your Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education / Drug and Alcohol course,
  • complete a minimum of 50 hours behind the wheel driving, of which 10 hours must be at night.

Q. Is the Drug and Alcohol Course / Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE course) approved?

A. Yes, our Drug and Alcohol Course (also known as Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education, or TLSAE course) is approved by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV, also known as DMV).

Q. Once I take the Drug and Alcohol Course (TLSAE course), can I take the DMV permit test online?

A. Yes. The Florida DHSMV allows the student to complete the online exam with any authorized provider, but you cannot take any part of the exam more than three times.

Q. Is there an age limit for taking the learners permit test online?

A. The eligible ages for the online driver license exams are 14, 15, 16, and 17. Any new driver over the age of 18 taking the DMV Test must take it at a local DMV Office.